2021 Graduate Student Research Day & Thelma Cardwell Lecture

The 2021 Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy Graduate Student Research Day will take place virtually on Wednesday, June 23.  This annual event provides the opportunity for second year MScOT students at the University of Toronto to share findings of their research projects and to celebrate their significant contributions to occupational science and occupational therapy.

Download the 2021 OS&OT Graduate Research Day Abstract Book.

Thelma Cardwell Lecture

The Thelma Cardwell Lecture Series was established in 1997 to honour one of this program’s, and occupational therapy’s, most prestigious alumna.

This year’s Thelma Cardwell Lecturer is Dr. Arno Kumagai, Professor and Vice Chair for Education, Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto. Photo of Arno Kumagai

Lecture Title: We Make the Path While Walking:  Critical Dialogues in Teaching and Learning for Social Justice

Lecturer Bio: Arno Kumagai is Professor of Medicine and Vice Chair for Education, Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto. He also holds the F. M. Hill Chair in Humanism Education at Women’s College Hospital, University of Toronto, where he has a clinical practice focused on working with people with type 1 diabetes mellitus.  Arno received his BA in Comparative Literature from UC Berkeley and his MD from UCLA School of Medicine.  He completed a residency in Internal Medicine and an Endocrine fellowship and postdoc in the UCLA system.  He was on faculty at the University of Michigan Medicine from 1996 to 2016 and joined the University of Toronto’s Department of Medicine as Vice Chair in April 2016.

Arno has published extensively on the use of narratives in medical education, transformative learning, dialogical teaching, and teaching for equity and social justice, and holds numerous teaching awards in basic science teaching, humanism, educational innovation, and diversity.  Most recently, he served as the 2018 Tosteson Visiting Professor of Medical Education at Harvard Medical School; the 2019 Boyarsky Lecturer at Duke University; and the 2020 Anne L. Brodie Professor at the University of Virginia.  He also serves on the Editorial Board of Academic Medicine.